Quick Info on Lagos State University College of Medicine


Lagos State University College of Medicine started her full function in 1999 and now considered to be the fastest-growing modern College of Medicine in Nigeria. Lagos State University College of Medicine is not the same with Lagos State Teaching Hospital though they complement each other through their varied functions.

Lagos State University College of Medicine was established to serve this ever-growing population in Lagos State by training doctors and paramedical personnel to complement the numbers of this cadre of medical personnel settling in the state following graduation from already established medical colleges.


These people are trained to treat patients, recognize the acutely ill ones and, when they are posted to rural areas, refer the deserving patients to appropriate centres and hospitals. The basic function of Lagos State University College of Medicine is to train medical doctors and other allied professionals of international standard, conduct research and deliver high-quality health care services to the state and the nation.

There are four Faculties in Lagos State College of Medicine. I’m going to list them out and also include the courses/department under this faculties.


The Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences

The Faculty was disaggregated from the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences as a pre-requisite for the accreditation of the MBBS Programme by the Council. The Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences consists of the following Departments;

  • Pharmacology, Therapeutic & Toxicology
  • Pathology and Forensic Medicine
  • Haematology and Blood Transfusion
  • Medical Microbiology & Parasitology
  • Chemical Pathology


Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.

  • Anatomy
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Physiology


Faculty of Clinical Sciences.

Once you are through with the Basic Medical Sciences programme, you will be validated Faculty of Clinical Sciences. Postings in the Faculty last approximately thirty (30) months.

During this time, students are expected to participate in all academic and clinical activities during each posting as they give the opportunity for passing instructions. Some of these activities include, but are not limited to:

  • Didactic lectures
  • Clinics
  • Business ward rounds
  • Teaching ward rounds
  • Grand Rounds
  • Call duties
  • Seminars
  • Theatre sessions
  • Community Health postings
  • Procedure sessions

Faculty of Dentistry

The Dental students Lagos State University College of Medicine have the same 200 and 300 Level Programmes as MBBS students with respect to courses in Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, GNS, Pathology Sciences and Pharmacology.

The first major departure takes place at 300 Level when Dental students begin to audit courses in Oral Biology.  The course covers Oral Anatomy and Oral Physiology although the course code OPB stands for Oral Pathology and Oral Biology.

Further core dental courses will commence at 400 level and last through 600 Level.  The courses will be taken from the following departments:

  • Oral Pathology
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Child Dental Health
  • Preventive and Community Dentistry
  • Restorative Dentistry

In the course of training, instructions will be given in fields like Operative Dental Techniques, Science of Dental Materials, Prosthetic techniques, Public Health Dentistry, Periodontology, Prosthetic Dentistry, Conservative Dentistry (including Endodontics), Oral Diagnosis and Dental Radiology, Oral Medicine and Dental Therapeutics, Paedodentics and Orthodontics as well as Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

For the latest updates, like my Facebook page

3 thoughts on “Quick Info on Lagos State University College of Medicine”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.