There is a difference between deleting your Gmail account and removing your Gmail account. When your delete your Google Account, you are directly removing yourself from all google services that your Gmail is connected to. You will permanently delete your Google Account and all your services and data, like emails and photos
Deleting your Gmail account also means, you’ll lose all the data and content in that account, like emails, files, calendars, and photos. You won’t be able to use Google services where you sign in with that account, like Gmail, Drive, Calendar, or Play.
When you delete your Gmail account, you’ll lose access to subscriptions and content you bought with that account on YouTube or Google Play, like apps, movies, games, music, and TV shows.
If you use an Android device, you’ll no longer be able to access Google Play and as such, you won’t be able to get or update apps or games from the Play Store. You won’t be able to use music, movies, books, or magazines you purchased. You’ll lose any music you bought elsewhere and added to Google Play.
You might lose your game progress, achievements, and other Google Play data from your account.
Contacts. You’ll lose contacts that are stored only in your Google Account and not separately on your device.
Deleting your Gmail account also means, you will no longer have access to your google drive nor can you save on google drive. You won’t be able to download or upload files to the deleted account.
If this is not what you want, you can read how to remove your Gmail account without deleting it.
If you still want to go ahead with the deletion. You can delete your Gmail account through your phone or computer. There can be many reasons to delete your Gmail account. You might want to start from scratch if you have an embarrassing username or get too many spam letters. Alternatively, you might consider switching to another email provider altogether. No matter the reason, today you’ll learn how to.
How to delete a Gmail account from Phone
- Open the Settings menu on the Android smartphone or tablet
- Locate Google (Services and preferences)
- If you have multiple gmail, choose the one you want to delete
- On the interface that opens, click on Manage you Google Account
- In the menu that opens, locate Data & Privacy
- Scroll down to locate Download or delete your data, tap on Delete a Google Service
- Google will ask users to sign in by entering the password for the account
- Next to ‘Gmail,’ tap Delete.
- Enter an existing email address (alternate) want to sign in with a Gmail password and tap Send verification email. This email can’t be a Gmail address.
- To verify the existing email address, Google will send an email to the existing email address. Until a user verifies the new email address, your Gmail address won’t be deleted.
How to delete a Gmail account from a computer
- Use a computer you’re logged in to with your Gmail
- Visit this link
- Locate and click on Delete Account (this will permanently delete your Google Account and all your services and data, like emails and photos)