Undergraduate degrees at Oxford are more specialised than those at most American universities and allow you to study your chosen course in depth. You apply for one course only, so making the right choice is very important. There are no major and minor subjects at Oxford, so you can’t mix and match different courses. Although you follow one course throughout your studies there are lots of options for specialising within your subject areas, but there is little opportunity to study electives or options from other subjects.
A course is usually only one academic subject (like Mathematics or History), but there are some courses which combine two or more subjects (like Physics and Philosophy). These joint courses are usually not major/minor combinations – you would need to demonstrate your aptitude for, and academic interest in, each subject. Most undergraduate courses are three years long. Some science courses enable students to do a research-focussed fourth year to gain a master’s degree. Most language courses take four years, including up to one year in a country where that language is spoken.

  • Archaeology and Anthropology
  • Biochemistry (Molecular and Cellular)
  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Classical Archaeology and Ancient History
  • Classics
  • Classics and English
  • Classics and Modern Languages
  • Computer Science
  • Computer Science and Philosophy
  • Earth Sciences (Geology)
  • Economics and Management
  • Engineering Science
  • English Language and Literature
  • English and Modern Languages
  • European and Middle Eastern Languages
  • Fine Art
  • Geography
  • History
  • History (Ancient and Modern)
  • History and Economics
  • History and English
  • History and Modern Languages
  • History and Politics
  • History of Art
  • Human Sciences
  • Law (Jurisprudence)
  • Law with Law Studies in Europe
  • Materials Science
  • Mathematics
  • Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Mathematics and Philosophy
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine
  • Modern Languages
  • Modern Languages and Linguistics
  • Music
  • Oriental Studies
  • Philosophy and Modern Languages
  • Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)
  • Philosophy and Theology
  • Physics
  • Physics and Philosophy
  • Psychology (Experimental)
  • Psychology, Philosophy and Linguistics
  • Religion and Oriental Studies
  • Theology and Religion

Oxford University Colleges
Oxford University is made up of colleges spread across the city of Oxford. These buildings provide accommodation, a dining hall, bar, common room, library and gardens. Every undergraduate lives in college accommodation in their first and usually last year. It is also here that college tutors will oversee your studies and normally arrange your tutorial teaching. The relatively small number of students at each college ensures a ready-made community which nurtures all undergraduates’ academic development and welfare.

  • Balliol
  • Brasenose
  • Christ Church
  • Corpus Christi
  • Exeter
  • Harris Manchester
  • Hertford
  • Jesus College
  • Keble
  • Lady Margaret Hall
  • Lincoln
  • Magdalen
  • Mansfield
  • Merton
  • New College
  • Oriel
  • Pembroke
  • Queen’s
  • Regent’s Park
  • St Anne’s
  • St Benet’s Hall
  • St Catherine’s
  • St Edmund Hall
  • St Hilda’s
  • St Hugh’s
  • St John’s
  • St Peter’s
  • Somerville
  • Trinity
  • University College
  • Wadham
  • Worcester
  • Wycliffe Hall

Hey! Thanks for reading List of Colleges and Courses Offered by Oxford University. If you like what you just read, give us a follow on Twitter using the button below and if you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it using the buttons below. You can scroll down to see more articles that will interest you. 

Looking for something? Use the search box below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Follow us on twitter.