Page loading... Please wait!

Ahmadu Bello University Notable Alumni

Although, Alumni refers to a group of graduates of either one or both genders, while alumnus traditionally refers to a single male graduate, with the feminine term being alumna, the alumni of the Ahmadu Bello University are individuals who had become part of the general definition of the university through their outstanding performances and achievements in their respective fields of specializations nationally and worldwide; and, also, in their contributions to the development of the university.
These are the list of Ahmadu Bello University notable Alumni;

  • Abdullahi Aliyu Sumaila: administrator
  • Abdullahi Mustapha: former vice-chancellor (ABU)
  • Abubakar Ibn Umar Garba: Shehu of Borno
  • Adamu Mu’azu: former Bauchi State governor
  • Afakriya Gadzama: former Director-General Nigerian State Security Service
  • Ahmed Abdullah: OON, former Agriculture and Rural Development Minister
  • Ahmed Makarfi: former Kaduna state governor
  • Ahmed Tijjani Mora: pharmacist, president of ABU Alumni Association
  • Aminu Safana: doctor/politician
  • Andrew Yakubu: former group MD, NNPC
  • Anthony Ayine: auditor general for the Federation
  • Atiku Abubakar GCON: former vice president, Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Attahiru Jega: professor, former chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
  • Ayodele Awojobi: scientist and professor at University of Lagos
  • Azubuike Ihejirika: former Chief of Army Staff
  • Bruce Onobrakpeya: artist
  • Bukar Abba Ibrahim, former governor, Yobe State
  • Catherine Uju Ifejika, chairman and CEO, Brittania-U Limited
  • Dahiru Musdapher, former chief justice of Nigeria
  • Danbaba Danfulani Suntai, former governor, Taraba State
  • Demas Nwoko, artist and architect
  • Dino Melaye, senator, Kogi West
  • Donald Duke, former Cross River state governor
  • Faruk Imam, justice, Kogi state Judiciary
  • Gani Odutokun, Artist and educator


  • Ghali Umar Na’Abba, former Speaker, House of Representatives
  • Ibrahim Garba, current vice-chancellor (ABU)
  • Ibrahim Geidam, governor, Yobe State
  • Ibrahim H. Umar, former vice-chancellor and scientist
  • Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, governor, Gombe State
  • Ibrahim Kpotun Idris, current IGP, Nigeria Police Force
  • Ibrahim Lamorde, former chairman, EFCC
  • Ibrahim Shekarau, former Kano state governor
  • Ibrahim Shema, former governor, Katsina State
  • Ibrahim Zakzaky prominent Shi’ite-Islam cleric, founder Islamic Movement in Nigeria
  • Idris Legbo Kutigi, former chief justice of Nigeria
  • Isa Marte Hussaini, professor, a pharmacologist
  • Isa Yuguda, former governor, Bauchi State
  • Jerry Gana, former information minister
  • Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya, former Kano state governor
  • Lawal Musa Daura, director-general, Nigerian State Security Service
  • Mansur Mukhtar, former executive director of the World Bank
  • Maryam Ciroma, former Minister of Women Affairs
  • Mike Omotosho, national chairman of the Labour Party (Nigeria)
  • Mohammed Bawa, former Ekiti State governor
  • Mohammed Bello Adoke, former Minister of Justice & Attorney General of the Federation
  • Muhammad Adamu Aliero, former governor, Kebbi State
  • Muhammed K. Abubakar, academic, former Minister
  • Namadi Sambo, former vice president of Nigeria
  • Nasir el-Rufai, Governor Kaduna State
  • Nenadi Usman, former finance minister
  • Nuhu Ribadu, former chairman, EFCC
  • Oladipo Diya, GCON, former vice president/CGS, Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Patrick Ibrahim Yakowa, former governor Kaduna state
  • Rebecca Ndjoze-Ojo, Namibian, politician
  • Rilwanu Lukman, former secretary-general OPEC & Petroleum Minister
  • Samuel Ioraer Ortom, former Minister of State Trade and Investments
  • Samuel Oboh, architect
  • Sanusi Lamido, former governor Central Bank of Nigeria, current Emir of Kano
  • Shamsudeen Usman, former Minister of National Planning
  • Shehu Ladan, former group MD, NNPC


  • Solomon Arase, former IGP, Nigeria Police Force
  • Sunday Awoniyi, Northern Yoruba Leader, former chairman ACF
  • Turai Yar’Adua, former first lady
  • Uche Okeke, Nigerian Artist and educator
  • Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, GCFR, former president of Nigeria
  • Umaru Tanko Al-Makura, governor, Nasarawa State
  • Usman Bayero Nafada, former deputy speaker, House of Representatives
  • Usman Saidu Nasamu Dakingari, governor, Kebbi State
  • Ussif Rashid Sumaila, economist
  • Yahaya Bello, governor, Kogi state
  • Yayale Ahmed, former secretary to the Government of the Federation
  • Zainab Abdulkadir Kure, politician

If you are interested in fully paid scholarships to study abroad click here.

Meanwhile, thanks for reading Ahmadu Bello University Notable Alumni. If you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it using the buttons below. You can scroll down to see more articles that will interest you.

Looking for something? Use the search box below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.